D24 Honorary Members

From time to time, District 24 awards Honorary Membership of the District to outstanding individuals. Honorary membership of the District conveys the District’s recognition of the demonstrable and substantial contribution, over an extended time, of a local person to advancing the status of women through community service and/or their personal endeavours.

2015 – Lindsay Cane

Lindsay Cane

The 2014-2016 District 24 Honorary Member is Lindsay Cane, Chief Executive Officer of Royal Far West. Lindsay is an experienced Company Director and CEO with a long career in leading, managing and inspiring organisational development and growth in the non-profit sector.

2014 – Professor Marian Baird


2012-2014 District 24 Governor, Kerrie Bigsworth, conferred Honorary Membership of Zonta District 24 on Professor Marian Baird at a “Women on Boards” seminar at Sydney University on 12 September.

Marian is the Professor of Employment Relations and Director of the Women and Work Research Group in Sydney University Business School. Through her research, teaching and provision of policy advice about women and work, and as a leadership role model in the tertiary education sector, she has made a very substantial contribution to the status of women in NSW, Australia and around the world.

2011 – Associate Professor Jennifer Burn


Associate Professor Burn was awarded Honorary Membership in recognition of her work and achievements in the field of human trafficking and advocacy for legal reform that will contribute to advancing the status of women. In particular, the award recognises Assoc Professor Burn as Director of Anti-Slavery Australia, an independent, non-profit, public interest centre within the Faculty of Law at the University of Technology Sydney where she works to improve the status of migrant women and those trafficked into various forms of servitude. In 2015 the website My Blue Sky was launched to assist women and girls facing forced marriage..

2009 – Gemma Sisia


Gemma Sisia, from Guyra in NSW, was awarded Honorary Membership for her endeavours, contributions and achievements as founder of the School of St Jude for disadvantaged children in Tanzania

email zontazonta facebook page zonta on twitterzonta on youtubezonta on flickrzonta on linkedin