Young Women in Public Affairs

Applications for the Young Women in Public Affairs are available here
Applications open in August the previous year and entries must be received at District level by 1st April in the current year. Zonta International announces the awardees in June.

Young Women in Public Affairs (YWPA)

 Recognizes young women, ages 16-19, who demonstrate superior leadership skills and a commitment to public service and civic causes, and encourages them to continue their participation in public and political life. This program operates at the Zonta club, district/region and international levels.

YearDistrict 24 winnersSchool and Nominating Club
Taylah Iverach is a proud young woman of the Dunghutti Nation, who has demonstrated outstanding leadership and service both within her school and the wider community.  She was elected School Captain & has received a variety of school-based awards. Taylah has been involved in her local community including teaching dance to younger children while also coaching Junior netball. Taylah connects deeply to her Indigenous heritage through her involvement with family & connection with elders & has been involved in the compilation of a Dunghutti Dictionary. She has been accepted into the Doctor of Medicine Degree.
Melville High School, Kempsey

Cat (Nickie) Tran is a passionate advocate for social justice and women’s rights on many levels. Nickie was elected to her School Representative Council and School Captain position, and was selected by the NSW Department of Education for the Student Voice Committee. Impressively, Nickie is the founder and co-host of the popular ‘Teenaging’ podcast where she has addressed important issues such as period stigma.

ZC Macarthur Inc.
2020Peoly Gunaratne (international recipient)Hornsby Girls High School; ZC Hornsby Ku-ring-gai
2019Sarah al HelfyBirrong Girls High School; ZC Sydney West

Jorga Attard

(international recipient)

Port Macquarie

Mirac Mermi



Denali Hutt  



Athena Savvas - (international recipient)

(pictured with previous recipient Daniella Mraovic-left)



Daniella Mraovic - (international recipient)


Abi Rajkumar -(international recipient)



Katerina Jovanovska



Lana Nguyen



Leave a Reply